City of St. Paul Park 

on the Mississippi

City Officials

Mayor and Council:
The Mayor and four City Council Members make up the St. Paul Park City Council, which meets on the first and third Mondays of each month at 7 p.m.


The mayor is elected to a four-year term, while council members serve staggered four-year terms.  Local elections take place in November of odd numbered years.

As a council member, the mayor's official power is no greater than any other council member and the office has no veto power.  The mayor executes official documents, makes appointments subject to the approval of the council and presides at council meetings.

As the official head of the city, the mayor serves as spokesperson for both the government and the community. Each council member is assigned to act as liaison to one of the city's commissions.

City Council sets policy and overall direction for the city.  The City Council appoints a City Administrator to administer the policy and handle day-to-day operations. 

Commissions and Committees:
Several City Council-appointed committees and commissions serve the City of St. Paul Park.  These commissions advise the City Council on a variety of issues. 

Economic Development Authority
Parks & Recreation Commission
Planning Commission
Public Safety Commission
Public Works Commission

City of St. Paul Park, 600 Portland Avenue, St. Paul Park MN 55071